Analysis Blog Post 1 – Evidence

For the first few days of the week my online media use was highly repetitive, exposing the routines I have in relation to how I use it. I started out almost everyday with a scroll through each social media platform, including Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram and sometimes Pinterest as well. This routine was generally repeated at night with me taking the time to again scroll through these social media sites and liking anything that I thought was funny or interesting before going to bed.

During the day a few trends began to develop, especially during the week as I would use Spotify each day to listen to music on the way to uni and would also monotonously scroll through my social media sites at multiple times throughout the day. The content I would look at tended to involve topics such as fashion, veganism, feminism or celebrity news as these are what I am interested in and therefore follow and interact with people who share these same interests.

Majority of my activity throughout the week was passive, with me simply scrolling through the sites and maybe liking or tagging my friends in a couple of posts here and there. I did not tend to create much content, particularly during the week as I was busy with uni work. I did however tweet quite a bit throughout the week as a means to share my excitement and thoughts, sending simple tweets that I didn’t put all that much thought into. On the weekend however I did more activities that allowed me to create or author content such as Instagram posts that I shared with my followers.

I also used a lot online media for university during the week, which opened my eyes as to just how important the online world has become for our studies. I used google docs to collaborate on assignments with other students and also used Facebook, an inherently social medium, to do this as well. The use of Blackboard is also important to note as this is something I used every single day and yet failed to document this because of my inability to realise that using this site was too a form of online media use.

Leave a Reply

